top of page
  • sorenagilkinson

'Tis The Season - For Holiday Baking! Yum!!


I absolutely LOVE baking, especially for friends and family and ESPECIALLY during the holiday season. I absolutely have fun baking with my kids and we quite often will bust out the ingredients and get our bake on, especially if they see the cookie cutters out, signifying home made sugar cookies, yummy!


I was raised in a home where my Mom was always baking something and even though I didn't pick up the knack until I was older and spent more time with it learning and messing up, figuring it out is so much fun. It truly is an art and a science all rolled into one.

Because of the sugar cookie recipe I have found, which is not passed down, but is the best, I want to share that with you so you can get your Sugar Cookie Bake On.


The Best Ever Sugar Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 Egg

  • 1 C. butter, salted

  • 3 C. Flour

  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder

  • 1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla

  • 1 C. Granulated Sugar

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350

  2. Cream butter and white sugar.

  3. Add in egg and vanilla.

  4. Add in baking powder.

  5. Add in flour.

  6. Mix all ingredients and roll out to 1/8".

  7. Use your favorite holiday cookie cutters and have fun.

  8. Bake on top rack for 6 - 8 minutes.

  9. Allow to cool.

  10. Frost and enjoy. (I use Royal Icing for the frosting.)

Disclaimer: the cover photo is not an image of cookies I have made but they look lovely! The image below, however, is some Sugar Cookies I made recently for my ERA Office. They aren't the prettiest but they were tasty!







Comments


bottom of page